Back to Skating Tips Menu
Created by Sue Ellis, former US Olympic Speed Skating Coach
Speed Skating
Main Menu
We never share this information with anybody.
To receive our Newsletter, Camp Updates and Skating Tips enter your email address.
If you don't like something, change it. If you can't change it, change your attitude.

--- Maya Angleou

Note: (this  is still a Draft and not yet published.The following are the new rule changes approved at the recent ISU congress:

If a Skater places his skate partially or completely on or over the starting line,
it is a false start.    Effective immediately

If a Skater does not have both skates on the ice, i.e. full contact over the length
of the blades, it is a false start  Effective as of July 1, 2015.

After a race has been called back for a false start, then any subsequent false start
by any of the Skaters will result in a penalty for the Skater(s) concerned.   Effective immediately

- Penalties, yellow cards, red cards will be announced by the announcer directly to the audience without informing the coach in advance.

ISU member countries generally follow and apply ISU rules. It is advisable to check with your national governing body to see if they will be changing to conform to the new rules.